Bossypants, Tina Fey

“Tina Fey is an ugly, pear-shaped, bitchy, overrated troll,” is one of my favorite statements in this book.  And before I put my 400 words of adulation in, I just want to say…I really enjoyed this book. And I wish I was funny like Tina Fey. And I’m trying to somehow make this review more than a list of things I liked about this book.  And I think I’ve already failed.

Bossypants is an interesting, autobiographical, quick read by Tina Fey which humorously follows many chapters of her life. She doles out advice on topics like beauty, improv, raising a child, juggling work and family, working in boy’s clubs and the joys of Photoshop which all professional women (or people with a sense of humour) should find useful and entertaining. Included are her experiences with 30 Rock, SNL, her honeymoon, college years, and her first jobs at YMCA and a Chicago comedy club.  She speaks of growing up, her father, becoming Sarah Palin, and how a down-to-earth celebrity like her actually lives her life.  My favorite chapter of the book, Dear Internet, comprises of her hilarious responses to comments made about her online. Her topical chapters vary in length depending on how much she has to say on the subject, but all flow well and even a slower reader could polish Bossypants off within a couple days.

This was obviously not a hard book to pick up and read, and I enjoyed it for what it’s worth.  Do I need to know how to be a successful Improviser or learn how to suffer through photo shoots? No, not really, but it doesn’t hurt when it’s an entertaining read, I s’pose. It was interesting to see how she became such a famous comedienne, and it is thankfully evident that she hasn’t let that get to her head. I always enjoy learning something new from books, and though most of the accounts given wouldn’t necessarily pertain to me, it was still a joy to read. I would recommend this book to most of the women I know, especially those who enjoy some intelligent and sarcastic humour. For those in need of a good ole break from reality (who doesn’t?), this’ll definitely do the trick.

Have Your Say

