Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and other concerns), Mindy Kaling

Originally I was content, once I had finished this book, to leave it at that and get going on my next novel. But it kept coming back in random conversations or news, apparently begging to be reviewed by my very self. So here goes what will undoubtedly be a short but sweet review of Mindy Kaling’s autobiography.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) was a great autobiography. It was funny, girly and honest just like Kaling herself. (I know because I know, ok?) She paints an entertaining picture of her childhood and her experiences trying to make it as a comedy writer; letting the reader get a good sense of the person she is and the kind of life she lives. I enjoyed the casual format, with her rambles and nonsense and random observations. It wasn’t really a laugh out loud book, but I enjoyed it in the same way that I enjoy Hello! magazine. The obvious comparison here is Tina Fey’s Bossypants, and I have to say that IEHOWM?(AOC) fell a little short. It felt a bit more forced, and just not as funny. Despite that, Kaling was an interesting person to read about, and fans of The Office, especially the girls, should give it a shot.

2 responses

Have Your Say

