Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

TopTenTuesday

Well it’s that time of the week again, and many thanks to The Broke and The Bookish for this week’s theme! At first I thought this would be the easiest thing ever, but once I started compiling a list it became a lot more difficult. A lot of these characters I love for the same reasons I’ve listed them. Others, that so many people find annoying, I find easily defensible.  Oh well. There isn’t really an order to which ones I think are the most annoying but they’re listed 10-1 all the same. Enjoy!

Becky Bloomwood10. Becky Bloomwood from Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic Series. Becky may be silly and dumb and a little bit endearing, but after the 10th time she scrapes another credit card out of the ice block in her freezer to buy that Hermes scarf she just has to have, I have read enough. I found the books laugh out loud funny at parts, but sometimes it was just painful.

Mrs. Bennet9. All of those great Jane Austen characters. I’m going off the top of my head here with Lydia and her mother, Mrs. Bennet, from Pride and Prejudice, Marianne Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility,  and Mrs. Norris from Northanger Abbey. There are a host of others but I guess these are the ones that stuck with me.  Marianne for all her faults is redeemable, but oh so frustrating. Lydia and Mrs. Bennet are off the hook wackos and Mrs. Norris (a character J.K Rowling borrowed for her books) is just plain evil.

??????????????????8.  The Gone With the Wind Crazies. This is directed specifically at Ashley Wilkes and Scarlett O’Hara of course.  For those who need a recap of their story (spoilers!): Scarlett decides to love Ashley. Ashley marries Melanie despite loving Scarlett. Scarlett then marries Charles to spite her sister. Charles dies. Rhett is intrigued by Scarlett. Scarlett still loves Ashley, Ashley still loves Scarlett. Scarlett is poor after the war so marries Frank for money. Frank is murdered. Scarlett marries Rhett because there is nothing better to do. Melanie dies. Scarlett realizes she doesn’t love Ashley anymore, she loves Rhett. Rhett no longer loves Scarlett. The End.romeo and juliet Don’t get me wrong, I love this book, but I also love to hate Scarlett and Ashley.

7. Romeo and Juliet. Romeo for not waiting 5 minutes before he killed himself, just to make sure, and Juliet for not making a better escape plan.

Theon Greyjoy6.Theon Greyjoy This Game of Thrones character from the Iron Islands has lived with the Starks in Winterfell ever since his Father’s war plans were thwarted and it was agreed to hold him as a sort of hostage until he grew up. And despite having a pretty good childhood with the Starks, as soon as they’re down in the dumps he betrays their eldest son, Robb (his bestie), and while everyone is off to war, he goes back and lays siege to Winterfell, killing needlessly all the while. It only gets worse from there.

Jo and Laurie5. All the women who don’t fall in love when they’re supposed to. Yes this means you, Jo March and Anne Shirley. Like, I’m not even there with you, and I can see that the right guy is standing right in front of you. Helllllooooo!

Tess of the D'urberville's4. Angel Clare from Tess of the d’Urbervilles. Because he hates his wife for once being seduced by a man years prior, not five minutes after he confesses his own impurity.

Bella Swan3. This is for all the Bella-haters. I have to say I consider it a personal flaw (one of my very few) that I like the Twilight series so much. I’m always up for some poorly written and predictably-plotted young adult fiction with awful characters it seems. Yes I know that Hermione kicked butt when her heart was broken while Bella just sat in a chair for four months, but some people are just like that, OK? And to make matters worse, I love Breaking Dawn, officially everyone’s least favourite Twilight book. Well, lets move on now that I’ve lost all my credibility.

Umbridge2. J.K. Rowling’s Masterpieces. It’s still amazing to me that she created such great characters in her Harry Potter series. Everyone will have their favourites and least favourites, but I think we can all agree that Gilderoy Lockhart and Dolores Umbridge are downright annoying- if in a very entertaining way.

Memoirs of a Geisha1.The Chairman from Memoirs Of A Geisha. This guy is insane. Allow me to paraphrase the plot of the novel (spoiler ahead!): ‘Oh Sayuri, you are the love of my life and so beautiful  and I can never be happy without you, but I owe my friend big time so I’ll just offer you to him instead so we can both be unhappy forever and then at least I’ll have paid him back. Oh and by the way I’m married, but that’s OK because you’re just a geisha.’ Yup.

8 responses

  1. Ha, you’d love the image I included for my top ten list. Our list are quite similar. Austen, Angel Clare, Gone With the WInd. I didn’t include Theon only because he doesn’t irritate me, he makes me loathe him. Cersei too – no humility!

    • Yes I just checked out your post, though I can’t agree with Pollyanna and Emma Woodhouse (but I can see why anybody would think they’re annoying!). Btw I’ve read that 100-yr-old man book and I liked it though it’s a little ho-hum.

  2. Oh my gosh, I love number five! Seriously ladies, don’t you know when the perfect man is right there in front of you?

    Also, I fell the same way about Twilight. Not that Breaking Dawn is my favorite of the books, but i don’t hate the series. Although I understand why Bella would annoy so many people. She annoyed me in New Moon too.

Have Your Say

