My Spring TBR List

This was supposed to be a top ten list to coincide with The Broke and The Bookish meme last week, but I had a hard time putting this together.  I decided I couldn’t make a list since I hardly ever know what’s going to be coming out, and rely instead on a simple stroll through the bookstore or other blogs which seem to know what’s going on. Then I realized it doesn’t necessarily have to be a new book and now I have my list! Which does have a few new releases on it anyway. (Note: All these books are by female authors!)

Just to see what all the fuss is about:

(You know those books that you’re on the fence about and then see everywhere and can’t get them out of your head, so then must read them just to get it over with already!)

10. A Great and Terrible Beauty, Libby BrayA Great and Terrible Beauty

-Seems like either a Chick Lit or Young Adult book where a girl moves from India to a British boarding school and can see visions of the future. This book honestly doesn’t really appeal to me at all, but I got it on a sale at my library for $2 and I definitely see it everywhere I turn. It must be at least kind of good.

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie9. The Twelve Tribes of Hattie, Ayana Mathis

-This book seems to hold a promise of great literature. It sounds like a depressing read- a women marries this worthless guy and raises 9 kids without tenderness? Supposedly it is rather uplifting. Well I’ll give it a chance.

8. Legend, Marie LuLegend

– I might be onto Young Adult gold with this one. It seems to have all the right stuff. But if it was really, really good it would be more popular, right? Well it has stuck around long enough to pique my curiosity!

Graceling7. Graceling, Kristin Cashore

-I was so excited when I got this book for Christmas. Unfortunately I’ve had it packed away until a few days ago. This is one of those books that I know I’m going to love. This is because I’ve already read the prequel, Fire (which I brought up in this post, previously).

6. Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie PerkinsAnna and the French Kiss

– A couple of book blogs I follow seem to be obsessed with this book so I just have to get it over with already. I would totally not pick this up based on it’s summation: a high school girl with an awesome life is shipped off to boarding school in Paris where there’s a really cute guy. I so hope my blogger pals got it right with this one.

Marked on my calendar:

Bridget Jones's Diary5. The new Bridget Jones book!!!!

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK! Yes yes yes yes yes! It’s due out in November, is not yet titled and is going to be awesome. Fielding says that it will be a new phase of Bridget: “My life has moved on, and Bridget’s will move on, too.” (As said in this NYT article). OMG, yes!

4. Someday, Someday, Maybe, Lauren Graham Someday, Someday, Maybe

Lorelai Gilmore wrote a book! That’s obviously enough of a reason. Wahoo! It’s about a young women trying to make it as an actor in NYC, and of course will probably find love on the way. It’s supposed to be funny and awesome and I just can’t believe that something that I didn’t even have the gall to dream about is happening. It’s due out April 30th and has great reviews!

divergent 3 placeholder3. Divergent 3, Veronica Roth

As-yet untitled, Young Adult dystopian awesomeness due our way come October 22. Hopefully does not go the way of the Hunger Games sequels (which the Divergent sequel, Insurgent, had a twinge of). The most fun of all of this is trying to figure what they will call it. Predictably something like Convergent, Resurgent, Emergent or even Assurgent, BUT, at best it might even be Newsagent, Indulgent, Astringent, or Nonurgent. We can only dream, right?

2. The Elite, Kiera CassThe-Elite

‘Nuff said, really. You can read our last week’s review of its prequel here. It’s all ‘what’s gonna happen?!’ magic.

Dead Ever After1. Dead Ever After, Charlaine Harris

OK so these books are not really what book-bloggers are supposed to advertise their love for. I should be listing things such as The Old Man and the Sea, and the poetry of e.e. cummings for the sake of my credibility and literature-eliteness. But as I see it, there are enough Young Adult/Chick Lit books on this list for my ‘credibility’ to earn it’s ‘quotation marks’, and I did just write ‘literature-eliteness’ in the previous sentence. Anyway, I’m as hooked as can be. But here’s the thing. I didn’t really have a chance. I was given the first book of the series, Dead Until Dark*,  for Christmas three years ago. I thought it was OK, and did not pursue the series. Then my cousin urged me to read the sequel and I got hooked and read the rest of the twelve-book series in 8 days. The very last book is coming out on May 7th and I’m almost Harry-Potter-release-date excited. For the sake of love hexagons!

*Yes, all the books in this series have the word ‘dead’ in them.

Any books you’re hoping to polish off this spring?

One response

Have Your Say

