Top Ten Fictional Crushes

This weekly meme brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish!

Brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish!

Well I may be almost 25, but I’m pretty sure I still enjoy talking about boys as much as I did ten years ago! That’s why I’m super pumped about today’s topic: Top Ten Characters I Would Crush On If I Were Also a Fictional Character. This should be titled alternatively as: Top Ten Characters I Do Crush On, Even Though They Don’t Exist and I Can Never Have Them.

The Usual Suspects:

What’re you looking at? Oh, just me? Yes, look on.

Mr. Darcy (Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen). I ardently love and admire him.

Mr. Knightly (Emma, Jane Austen). There’s not a fault to find with THIS person!

Jamie Fraser (Outlander series, Diana Gabaldon). Dinna ken what I love most!

Gilbert Blythe (Anne of Green Gables, L. M. Montgomery). How anyone could give him the cold shoulder for so long is beyond me.

Most disappointing scene in any movie ever.

Laurie (Little Women, Louisa May Alcott). What can I even say about this one? Why isn’t he real? WHY? (Bonus: a serious though hilarious character summary; contains spoilers!)

New Boys in Town (meaning it’s less likely you’ve met them):

From Jennifer L. Holm’s Boston Jane series: Jehu and Handsome Jim. Natasha has chosen Jehu because he is the romantic lead ship captain with a speaking part. I have chosen Handsome Jim because he mostly just stands there and looks pretty. I am shallow.

Real life Handsome Jim, or just an excuse to post a picture of Adam Beach with long hair? It’s hard to tell.

From Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series: Jacob Black. To quote Natasha’s disclaimer: “from when I was 18.” That’s okay, Tash. I’m pretty sure if I’d read the books I’d be right there with you.

From Fire by Kristin Cashore: Brigan. Kaite’s choice. I have yet to make the acquaintance.

“Pretty much all the guys in the Sookie Stackhouse books”, by Charlaine Harris. Thanks, Kaite, that really narrows it down.

[Addendum: The following photo joins the round-up a bit late, due to an oversight on this writer’s part. My sincere apologies at the previous lack of abs in this post.]

Alcide Herveaux…wearing a shirt. Gotta keep it modest, you know.

Honourable Mention:

“Our last king,/Whose image even but now appear’d to us,/Was, as you know, …Thereto prick’d on by a most emulate pride…OF LIONS!” (This “Hamlet” quote has been modified.)

Shakespeare’s Hamlet. I really wanted to put Simba, but (a) he is from a movie and (b) he is an anthropomorphic lion. Unfortunately those factors disqualify him. The closest literary equivalent has to be Hamlet. Really, though, he’s a terrible boyfriend! He’s, like, so wrapped up in his own depression and psychosis, and that’s why he doesn’t make the cut.

And now: How about you? Any book boyfriends or girlfriends you think I should know about?

6 responses

  1. All the characters from the Sookie Stackhouse series, no need to narrow it down. My favorite is Alcide or Eric, I’m curious who she ends up with – we’ll find out next month.

  2. Alcide and Eric have no chance. It’s gotta be between Bill or Sam. But Alcide is seriously good looking. I’ll have to talk to the boss about getting a picture inserted.

Have Your Say

