Joint Review: Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

Deborah: After all the buzz this book is already getting, it feels a little excessive to write a review. Yet, here it is! The Unofficial Guide to whether or not you should give this polarizing novel a chance!

Personally, I loved it! What’s your verdict, Kaite? Is the cultural obsession well-founded or not?

Kaite: I’m not as excited as most, though I still have two thumbs up. At one point I wasn’t sure if I could even finish this one. I will soon tell you that I really enjoyed this read, but I’m one of those people who does not like depressing stories. I’ll leave the room in the middle part of chick flicks where everything falls apart. The first half of the book was hard for me to get through for this reason. Once I got over that hump, I could not put it down! There were layers and layers to this story and I really appreciated the intelligence with which it was put together. The complexity inherent in every page of this book sets it apart from many others. I would recommend it to many people…normal people who do not leave rooms for the sad part in chick flicks.

Deborah: Three things this book is not: uplifting, reverent, joyous. Three things it is: dark, addictive, complex. Kaite, I’ll let you do the hard part and set it up.

Kaite: Divided into three parts, this book will get pretty darn close to blowing your mind. Part One, aka Marriage is Awful, introduces us to modern day Nick: good-looking New Yorker returning home to Missouri after his writing career falls apart, and Amy, his beautiful and thoughtful wife who is moving away from everything she knows in support of her husband. They have lost the spark in their marriage, but Amy continues to try to mend their once-great connection, while Nick often ignores her efforts and focuses on his own endeavors. Then one day he comes home to overturned furniture and a missing wife, and is left to reevaluate his relationship with her in the midst of a police investigation. Part Two, aka Holy Cow!, is worth the wait, and Part Three created a better ending than I thought was possible.

Warner Bros., 1993

Deborah: And yet…the ending! NOOOOO!!! Gone Girl inspired some pretty strange dreams within the three days I took to read it. So unsatisfied I was with the ending that I invented an alternate in my sleep. It’s not plausible, but at least I feel better about it.

Kaite: I loved how the book wrapped up; I loved how many angles these characters have; but I love this book chiefly because it defied my deal-breaking too-depressing rule. There are many friends I’m going to have to lend this book out to – the ones who love Stephen King and movies like The Fugitive. I almost like this book more because it lost so many points in Part One and came back fighting. I’m a big re-reader, and though I don’t think this one will get revisited for a long time, if ever, I know this will become a great movie I’ll go line up to see.

Rosamund Pike

Deborah: Me too! And according to IMDb, the movie is in pre-production and set to release in 2015. A long wait, but here’s what we know so far: Ben Affleck is slated to play the confused and confusing Nick, and Amy will be played by Rosamund Pike (bookish girls like us will recognize her chiefly from 2005’s Pride & Prejudice). Neil Patrick Harris and Tyler Perry are also apparently in the mix. David Fincher (Fight Club, The Social Network) is set to direct. I like all of it!

Have you read Gone Girl? What did you think? Sound off in the comments!

Have Your Say

