Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR List

This meme is brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish!

This meme is brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish!

I’m never up to date about what books are coming out, the way I am with movies. There really ought to be book previews on television, don’t you think? Then again, I think most of today’s movies are ideas that came from books! In fact, that may be the pattern you notice in today’s list, Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR* List. I’m really not that specific though, so let’s call this my top ten “hope to get around to it” titles, in no particular order.

For Teens:

  1. Allegiant! The final book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy comes out October 22, the only book on this list that isn’t yet in stores.
  2. The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp. I can’t determine if this teeny-bopper boy-book will be awful or cool, but obviously I like Shailene Woodley, so before I let myself watch the movie I should probably try the book.
  3. If I Stay by Gayle Forman. Some girl gets in an accident, and from her out-of-body consciousness has to decide if she should die or “stay”. What can I say? They’re making it a movie with the surprisingly complex tween actress Chloë Grace Moretz, and I wish to see it. Therefore, it’s TBR.
  4. Ender’s Game, the classic sci-fi for younger readers by Orson Scott Card. No, no, I haven’t read it yet, don’t bite my head off! Not surprisingly, it’s now a movie that I want to see. Sensing a pattern here? I think it’s the last one on this list.
  5. Paper Towns by John Green. The only John Green I haven’t yet read. I know it won’t be as good as TFiOS, but who cares! Not taking his insta-classic into account, this author still churns out consistently high-quality YA.

For Adults:

  1. Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. “It was a pleasure to burn” and all that jazz. I have high hopes for one day making it past the first sentence.
  2. Juliet by Anne Fortier, because I bought it at a thrift store for a buck, and I think it sounds like the perfect little romance for reading by the fire on a rainy fall’s eve.
  3. The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley. I see this book everywhere, and it’s romance, and it’s the ocean, so what the heck am I waiting for? Maybe Winter.
  4. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini. I don’t remember what it’s about, but I trust this author and 100% know that I will like it.
  5. Nothing To Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick. Having lived in South Korea, I really want to read this journalist-written non-fiction, which I’m told is our most accurate current portrait of what life is like in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea. I’m scared about what I might learn, but that probably means I should.

What are you excited to read this fall? Have Your Say below!

*”TBR” can mean lots of things, including such useful phrases as “Truck Bus Race-car” or “Taco Bell Run”, or any one of these. However, for the purposes of this blog it means “To Be Read”. Consider yourself informed.

5 responses

  1. Ender’s Game! I love that book so much and really hope you do too! Plus, the movie looks INCREDIBLE.

    And – wait – I have The Winter Sea on my Kindle! At least I used to… I’m going to have to go back and actually read it now!

  2. Pingback: Juliet, Anne Fortier | A Novel Thing

Have Your Say

