Let me fill you in…

Well hello there! Hope you all had great summers!  Mine was great, thanks for asking. Highlight would be … going camping with my dog. My hubby tagged along too. Now I’m back to the grind. I just finished my first week as a shelver at a local public library, which is a great foot in the door, since I am also in my first semester of a Library and Information Technology diploma (2 year program). I’ve finished four weeks at college and I cannot believe how much I’ve learned about my desired profession already! I’ve still got a few bad habits though- I’ve already been caught eating in the school library, have $8 in fines at the public library and just two days ago spent big bucks on a book I was dying to read which today I saw two copies of in the library.

It was also a good summer for books. Though I didn’t consume as many as the previous year, I was very happy with most of my reads. And now, ladies and gentlemen, is my chance to brief you all on these very books, so sit back and enjoy!

Matched Trilogy

Speak, 2011-2012

Ally Condie’s Matched Trilogy

I was given Matched for my birthday from a friend whom is obviously a great present-purchaser. I enjoyed the first novel, though it was nothing spectacular. The gist is that main character Cassia is living in a future dystopian society where, as the ‘disclaimer’ says, ‘…officials decide who you love, where you work, when you die’. There’s the dreaded love triangle, which was super annoying and got progressively worse. I’m pretty easy when it comes to books, so obviously I got hooked and had to read book two and three, which also got progressively worse. Not my cuppa tea I suppose.

1984

Penguin Books (different cover), 1954 (originally 1949)

George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four

Before anyone starts thinking highly of me, I should admit this is the only book I got around to reading from my previous post. I pretty much got what I was expecting, and it was rather good. It didn’t draw me in so much as give me the heeby-geebies, but I keep thinking it would have been even better if read in the 50’s. If I had done so, I probably would have moved to the Yukon, a hundred kilometers from the nearest town.

I've got your number

Dial Press, 2012

Sophie Kinsella’s I’ve Got Your Number

This was one of my favourite books this summer. After a couple of lemons, Kinsella is back to her old self with this chick-lit, which has her usual plot and character-types. It was funny and cute and exactly what I wanted it to be. Kinda silly how something so predictable can be so good.

The Book Thief

Knopf (different cover), 2005

Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief

This book was not what I was expecting at all, and it was great! It was like nothing I had ever read before, and though it’s not out-of-the-ballpark good, it was sure worthwhile. The narrator, who is death (sorta like the Grim Reaper, though ‘he’ says that ‘he’ is not), is intrigued by our main character, Liesel, who is a preteen in Nazi Germany. She comes to live with foster parents and eventually develops a habit of nicking books at meaningful moments and teaching herself to read with her new father. Doesn’t sound too good the way I’ve put it, but trust me, it’s popular for a good reason! The best thing about it for me was that it was a totally different side of the holocaust, which I’ve always enjoyed reading books about.

Legend

Speak, 2011

Marie Lu’s Legend

This one has been in my sights for awhile, as all popular young adult reads are, eventually. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment. Another dystopian future, where main character June is born into an affluent family, though it is just herself and her brother. When her one sibling is murdered, she discovers the other side of society when she hunts for the ‘supposed’ killer, her future love-interest Day. At least there’s no love triangle! Well, not really, at least.

Lunar Chronicles

Square Fish, 2012, 2013

Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles

When push comes to shove, these were probably my favourite reads of the summer. Cinder, the first installment of the so-far two-piece saga, in particular was wonderful- everything I want in a YA book. Meyer is a self-proclaimed geek, and all that awesome-ness comes out in her writing. Cinder and the sequel, Scarlet, are both based off of popular fairy tales, re-imagined in a future society. If I had a list of requirements for a YA book to be amazing, this one would have all the boxes checked off.

Flavia de Luce Novels

Anchor Canada, 2009-2013

Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce Novels (2-5)

I had read the enjoyable first novel, of which you can read Deborah’s review of here, long ago, and picked up the second book on a whim when I saw it on the discount rack at Barnes & Noble. Thank goodness I did so because I became so hooked. The books all have wacky titles, but each one was a better read than the last. Sam Mendes is planning on making the books into TV movies, and the series has been extended to ten books(!). One of the best protagonists around, Flavia is not something I will ever get tired of. The only thing I’ll say is don’t read the fifth book until the sixth one comes out in ‘early 2014’. The cliffhanger is killing me!

Well that’s it folks! These were the books of my summer, or at least the ones I remember. (My memory has decided it is not important to keep track of those sorts of things.) Hopefully some of you will pick up a few of the books I’ve recommended, because really, what’s better than knowing you have a good book right in front of you? Feel free to share some of your favourite summer reads, I’d love to hear them!

One response

Have Your Say

