The Friday 56: Water for Elephants

the-friday-56Hosted by Freda’s Voice, The Friday 56 follows these simple rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

Okay, so I know I’ve made it seem like I’ve read Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants, but the truth is I’d only seen the film! For shame! Now that’s off my chest, I can happily report that the book is fabulous, too. I finished it in three days! What I don’t like about my copy (which I bought for $2.00 at a Goodwill) is that it boasts the movie poster as its cover. Why do they do that? Serious pet peeve!!

Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2011 (first published 2006), 350 pages

“What is this?” says Uncle Al from the depths of a winged chair. He is seated at a table with three other men, twaddling a fat cigar between the finger and thumb of one hand and holding five fanned cards in the other. A snifter of brandy rests on the table in front of him. Just beyond it is a large pile of poker chips.

“Jumped the train, sir. Found him sneaking through a sleeper.”

Officially on the bucket list: jump a moving train. As always folks, happy weekend!

– Deb

4 responses

Have Your Say

