Top Ten Unusual Character Names

This weekly meme brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish!

This weekly meme brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish!

Boy did we have fun making this list! At first it was harder than it might seem,  because all we could come up with were Harry Potter characters. After a bit of thought, however, I think Kaite and I have formed a pretty respectable list of unusual monikers – all from books you’ve heard of, and mostly off the tops of our heads.

  1. Let’s get them out of the way: Neville Longbottom, Albus Dumbledore, Severus Snape, Sir Nicholas de Mimsy-Porpington, heck – even Peeves! The list of hilarious and inventive HP names goes on and on, but alas, there is more to life than Harry Potter.

    Atticus & Scout in the 1962 Robert Mulligan film.

  2. From To Kill a Mockingbird: Atticus Finch (not to mention his kids, Scout, Gem, and their friend Dill).
  3. From the Millenium Trilogy (AKA: the girl who did various unrecommended things): Lisbeth Salander. Always makes me think of a salamander.

    Effie Trinket

  4. From The Hunger Games: Let’s be honest, it took all of us some convincing before we got used to names like “Katniss”, “Peeta”, and “Haymitch”. But the one who takes the cake (and usually looks like one, too) is Effie Trinket.
  5. From A Song of Ice and Fire (AKA: A Game of Thrones): Daenerys Targaryen, Sansa, Bran…
  6. From our childhoods, a name as wild and unruly as the legendary girl herself: Pippi Longstocking. I love her so much I named my cat after her. Like the fictional character, she answers to nobody.
  7. From Looking For Alaska: Alaska! Her parents rigged it so that she got to choose a name for herself as a young child, which is unusual in itself. I’m just glad they didn’t end up with a daughter named Oklahoma.
  8. From The Help: Okay, it’s not so bad since it’s only a nickname, but “Skeeter” Phelan shouldn’t have let that one slide. It sort of disproves that a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. Then again, the given name of “Eugenia” isn’t much better. Girl had it bad from the beginning…no wonder everyone thought she was plain.
  9. And whilst I quote the Bard, I should point out that Shakespeare also coined some very unusual names. To name a few which he did not (I hope) take from myth or history: Nick Bottom, Lord Bigot, Dogberry, Dull, Feeble, Froth, Mouldy, Mustardseed, Tom Snout, Wart. Most of these are from A Midsummer Night’s Dream and one of the Henry’s, in which case old Shakey was really on a role. Now, I just got most of these from a list on Wikipedia, but mad respect if anyone out there can tell me which plays all these characters are from, without running a search. 😉
  10. From Ella Minnow Pea: Ella Minnow Pea. A silly name in a silly book. Look for the review here soon!

Let us know which characters you thought up!

11 responses

  1. I actually didn’t include any HP names on my list, because I knew I’d go crazy with it and have my whole list be HP! Though I love Luna Lovegood 🙂 She’s my favorite character from the series, and her name is so pretty

    My TTT

Have Your Say

