Bookish and Not-So-Bookish Thoughts with Kaite

Hey guys!

So today’s post is dedicated to all those bookish things that have been roving around my brain for the last while. Finally I decided to just make a post outta them! I always enjoy looking at ‘Bookish thoughts’ on other blogs, so here goes!

10. Mapping a Literary CityBook Map

Amazing! I think I saw it floating around a few months ago, but I really need to profess my love for this now. It combines my passion for maps, and literary things. And you can buy them. Only question is: Can I wait for Christmas?

9. Library Shaming

Lots of amusing librarians ‘fessing to their bad habits. These are my people!Librarian Shaming

8. The Book Thief is becoming a movie?The Book Thief

When did this happen? It’s too hard to keep up with things nowadays, I may as well just give up … Actually not sure what it’ll be like; it doesn’t seem like it would lend itself too well to a movie format. Guess I’ll wait for it to come out on DVD.

7. On reading Allegiant, by Veronica Roth (no spoilers)Allegiant

I reread Divergent for this endeavour, and just did a quick google on Insurgent since I didn’t really feel like rereading that one. So far very underwhelmed. Rereading Divergent made me question why I liked the series so much to begin with. I know that I didn’t like Insurgent nearly as much as the original, and so far Allegiant is heading that way too. Roth had a great idea with the Factions for her dystopian YA, but not much else to back it up it seems. And I’m seriously beginning to question why I never hated the name ‘Four’ as much. Really. Four.

6. Read a fascinating interview

on NPR Books last week for a homework assignment. Fun homework, yay! It was with Canadian astronaut, Chris Hadfield, and explored his experiences in space and what he has taken from his journeys. Interesting tidbit – in order to test you for claustrophobia, astronauts-in-training are zipped into a ball, and not told how long they are going to be left in there for. Yikes.

5. Saw Carrie in TheatreCarrie
It was pretty good. Splendid way to spend Halloween with friends. I thought all the acting was great. I’m not a Stephen King fan per se, so you may go ahead and disregard my opinion, though. I’ve got a thing for Julianne Moore, so I’m a little biased.

4. What made me laugh this week:

3. The new Harry Potter books covers are awesome!

And they're even nicer in person.

And they’re even nicer in person.

Saw these pop up in the library I work at, and I was impressed! In my opinion, way better than any other version out there. Look at the cool spine photo they make! Kinda wish my ratty old copies would burst into flame, now.

2. Interesting book I found at the Library:Who wants to be a poodle I don't

Oh! the books you find at the library.

1. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries are the BEST THING EVER!

Lydia and Mr. Collins

Lydia and Mr. Collins

Just finished marathon of episodes, which are all like 3-5-or-so minutes long. There are 100 episodes in total, with costume drama, and many visitors. Gah! It is amazing! The whole world must view these!

(Sidenote: I don’t really watch The Voice, but I did recognize Breanna Cuoco who plays a small role in the Diaries (emo cousin, Mary). Weird.

2 responses

  1. Yes, I will be forever obsessed! Episodes of the Emma adaptation ‘Emma Approved’ are on currently (at e10). Not liking it as much as LBD yet, but still incredibly excited about it!

Have Your Say

