The Friday 56: Beautiful Ruins

the-friday-56

Hosted by Freda’s Voice, The Friday 56 follows these simple rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

Harper, 2012, 337 pages

She shrugged and put the book down again. “Do you think that was wrong?”

He had a fifty-fifty chance of getting this one right. “Yes?”

This book has been sitting on my bedside table for over a week, and I haven’t made it further than page 4. Truth be told, it doesn’t appeal to me in the least, even though two friends with similar reading tastes have recommended it to me and I’m pretty sure I’d enjoy it, in the end. Sigh. 

What does it take for YOU to start a book you’re not that into? Comment below!

Deborah

2 responses

  1. I have a lot of books like that. I can’t remember ever regretting powering through to finish the book. Sometimes they even become my favourites. Sometimes they take a couple months to come back to.

Have Your Say

