Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

Okay, so even though I’m not going to make it to my rather pedestrian goal of reading 52 books this year – I’m only at 31 – I’d still put this year down as an adventurous one. I tried out a lot of new authors! Some where bad, but most of them were good. Here are my personal top ten, in no particular order.

The Ones That Made Me Swoon:

Random House, 2012, 294 pages

  • Anne Fortier – I read her only book so far, JulietNext up: The Lost Sisterhood, due for publication in March 2014.
  • Sara Gruen – Water for Elephants, which I love, love, loved. Next up: I don’t care about horses much, so probably not the Riding Lessons series. Ape House will do. I love how this woman puts animals in all her titles!
  • Karen Thompson Walker – The Age of MiraclesThis book had it all for me. It makes me sad that my mom and sister both didn’t care for it much, because I’m almost tempted to call it my favourite book of the year. Next up: whatever she writes next! I eagerly await a second book from this new author.

Tundra Books, 2010, 229 pages

The Ones That Made Me Laugh:

  • Susin Nielson – Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom. I just love books that make me laugh out loud! Next up: Word Nerd.
  • Maureen Johnson – I read 13 Little Blue Envelopes and The Name of the Star. Next up: probably whatever I can get my hands on. I really would like to read The Last Little Blue Envelope, though.
  • Tim Tharp – I read The Spectacular Now [review pending], just one of his five books that all look equally awesome. Next up: either Badd or Mojo.

The Ones That Made Me Think:

Bloomsbury USA, 2006, 272 pages

  • Michael Crichton – Jurassic ParkNext up: The Lost World.
  • Jim Lynch – The Highest Tidewhich I snarfed up in just a couple beach days. Next up: whichever of his books I stumble upon next at the library.
  • Mark Dunn – Ella Minnow Pea. Next up: Ibid, a novel about a three-legged circus performer, written entirely in footnotes. I have a feeling this guy writes good “filler fiction” – you know, when you need something fluffy in between longer books?
  • John Corey Whaley – Where Things Come Back. Next up: Whaley’s second book, Noggin, which comes out April 2014.
2 responses

Have Your Say

