Books I Need to Read Over the Holiday

I’m lucky enough to be spending Christmas away this year. My family and I are going on a relaxing vacation in Cuba and we plan to do all of about 3 things while we’re away. The first would be to sightsee the beautiful new surroundings. The second: EAT! And the third is my favourite: sitting on the beach, reading.

There are a few books that I’ve waited this whole semester for and now that school is no more I’m happy to share the books I plan to read this holiday with you.

Pan, 2008, 1248 pages (paperback)

1) World Without End by Ken Follett: I’m about halfway through this sequel to Pillars of the Earth. Since I rely on public transit for school and work, I take the 3 hour commute each day as an opportunity to read. Fortunately I will now have less distractions and more time to finish the book without any interruption! So far so good with this novel. Much like Follett’s other novels, this tale is a sweeping epic with an intriguing love story that spans years. It takes place in the 14th century, two centuries after Pillars of the Earth left off. Although the novel still takes place in Kingsbridge, the characters are different – but I’m falling in love with them, just like the first novel. I’d recommend Follett as an author, especially if you enjoy historical fiction. I’ve never been dissatisfied with any of his novels.

on-the-road

Penguin Modern Classics, 2000, 281 pages (paperback)

2) On The Road by Jack Kerouac: This novel was suggested to me by a friend and I’ve been intrigued by it ever since. It’s a sort of coming-of-age novel about young men and their travels across America in the 1940s. They discover a lot of new things during this time and I think the book may be a bit risqué at times but I’ve been told that it’s an amazing read and I’m looking forward to tackling it! (This book was recently made into a movie featuring Kristen Stewart. Needless to say I have NO desire to watch the movie.)

6581303

Berkley Trade, 2010, 470 pages

3) Mistress of Rome by Kate Quinn: I bought this book at Value Village and I hope that it fills my longing for Italy. It’s a story about a slave girl who falls in love with a gladiator. Now that I’m reading the back of the novel it reminds me a lot of A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers (an amazing read), but I look forward to exploring the history of Rome through this novel. I recently returned home from living in Rome for a year and so now I crave anything that will remind me of my time there. Hopefully this book will!

TVC-hi-res

Knopf Canada, 2011, 356 pages (hardcover)

4) The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay: I read McKay’s novel The Birth House and loved everything about it, especially her talent for writing. I actually didn’t know what The Virgin Cure was about until I read a summary now – and it sounds a bit heavy. The novel takes place in Manhattan in the 19th century and features a 12-year-old girl who gets involved in life at a brothel – and the importance of her virginity. It sounds a bit sinister but if the novel is anything like McKay’s last, I know that I’ll find this to be fantastic book despite the heavy content.

Maybe I’ll finish all these books while I’m away, maybe I won’t. Regardless I hope to have a few new reviews written up for you in a month or two!

Have Your Say

