The Friday 56: The Painted Girls

the-friday-56

Hosted by Freda’s Voice, The Friday 56 follows these simple rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
  • Find any sentence (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
  • Post it.

Riverhead books/Penguin USA, 2013, 357 pages (hardcover)

So far I’m making good on my Winter TBR. The Painted Girls is not everything I hoped it would be, but nonetheless it’s a solid read. From page 56 of my ebook version:

“There is a painter,” I say. “Madame Dominique lets him watch our class.”

Maman looks up at me with woolly eyes.

“He said my face is interesting.”

I can’t wait to review this one! Take care this weekend, friends!

Deborah

10 responses

  1. I have this one and haven’t read it yet.
    Have to say, meeting Cathy at a conference in 2012 was really the highlight of that year. I even went a little fan-crazy when we took a photo together. She’s fab!

Have Your Say

