Top Ten Tuesday: Best Young Adult Series

As hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, this week allowed me to choose any genre I wanted. I read all genres and found it tough to narrow it down, however I have a lot of YA books in my repertoire, and thought to keep it to YA series, since I just finished Cress, the third book of Marissa Meyers’ Lunar Chronicles series. Even this is a little tough! I don’t include Harry Potter or Anne of Green Gables books, which usually fall under Juvenile fiction. I figured I’d give some other books a shot at being on the list.

Graceling#1 Graceling Realm Series, Kristin Cashore

These are some of my all-time favourite books, which I’ll read over and over again.

Cinder#2 The Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer

I’m loving these fractured fairy tales! Retelling the Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White stories, they focus on a future time when Lunars, colonists from the Moon, threaten to take over Earth. Cinder is a main character throughout the novels, and the supporting cast are great entertainment.

Hunger Games Trilogy#3 The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins

Even though the last two books are not that great, there’s still a lot to salvage; evidenced by the great movie adaptations.

The One#4 The Selection Novels, Keira Cass

Again, not the greatest writing, however I love the story that Cass tells here. I’m also looking forward to the conclusion to the trilogy, The One, which comes out in May!

Angus, thongs and full-frontal snogging#5 Confessions of Georgia Nicolson Series, Louise Rennison

I’ve only read the first of the ten books in this series, but plan on pulling the other ones out on the beach this summer!

Heist Society Series#6 Heist Society Series, Ally Carter

This is a fun little series of wealthy teens with abnormal abilities to steal high-security items from museums and other collectors. The relationship between Kat and Hale makes this series a page-turner.

Ender's Game#7 The Ender Quintet, Orson Scott Card

This one’s a little different. I loved Ender’s Game, merely enjoyed Speaker for the Dead, and don’t have any plans to continue in the series. However, I really loved Ender’s Game. So, yeah.

Vampire Academy#8 Vampire Academy Series, Richelle Mead

I expected very little from this series, which I judged both by its awful cover, and by the word ‘Vampire’ in the title. It ended up being very enjoyable, and main character Rose kept my attention with her spunk and tenacity. Her relationship with Dmitri didn’t hurt, either.

His Dark Materials#9 His Dark Materials, Philip Pullman

Now 15 years old, this series was greatly enjoyed by me in the past, and is due for a re-read (which it hopefully lives up to!).

Wicked Lovely Series#10 Wicked Lovely Series, Melissa Marr

I only read the first in the series a few weeks ago. Marr creates a detailed world where Fairy royalty and other mythical creatures walk among us. I love the covers, and will definitely get around to the second one eventually.

Bonus! Least Favourite YA Series (From Best to Worst)

#1 The Divergent Trilogy, Veronica Roth

I don’t hate it, in fact I loved it the first time. Unfortunately the re-read didn’t live up to expectations. Looking forward to the movie though!

Uglies#2 The Uglies Series, Scott Westerfeld

Not enough interest there for me. But kudos for being one of the ground breakers in the genre!

#3 Chemical Garden (Wither), by Lauren DeStefano

Started with an interesting idea, then went a little crazy with it.

#4 The Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie

Again, started with a really cool concept, and made it weird and ugh.

City of Bones#5 The Mortal Instruments (City of Bones), Cassandra Clare

Though I never really enjoyed this series, it sucked me in to read all the books. There were a few too many things going on in this series, though.

#6 The Caster Chronicles (Beautiful Creatures), Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Not sure if having a male main character was weird, or not, but this book is just a little bit better than the movie.

Legend#7 The Legend Series, Marie Lu

It looked like it would be so good, and it just…. wasn’t.

#8 The Gemma Doyle Trilogy ( A Great and Terrible Beauty), Libba Bray

See previous entry on said awful book.

#9 House of Night Series (Marked), P.C Cast and Kristin Cast

I haven’t read this one! But I’ve read the back cover, and a few reviews and that was enough to turn me off forever!

#10 The Wolves of Mercy Falls (Shiver), Maggie Stiefvater

Shiver is one of the worst books I have ever read. Like in the top two.

4 responses

  1. I really enjoyed the Lunar Chronicles. I prefer a villain you don’t feel bad for hating, though I’m not sure how the good guys are going to win. The next book is so far away…

    I’ve read several of the Georgia Nicolson books–she’s hilarious, and often unlucky, but she keeps trying no matter what.

  2. Loved the books on your faves list that I’ve read – especially the Vampire Academy series. And agree with some of your least faves too – like the Mercy Falls series. I did like the first book, but it went downhill from there (for me).

Have Your Say

